Vatican Basilicas and Churches

Vatican basilicas and churches. Rome is the city with the most churches in the world. There are more than 900 and it’s not easy to determine the exact number. The oldest churches date from the 2nd century.

Papal basilicas

There are four papal basilicas in Rome. They belong to the Vatican state and are extraterritorial for Italy. The four Pope basilicas are

The seven churches

I have written a separate article about the seven churches pilgrimage. In addition to the four papal basilicas St Sebastian at the Catacombs, Holy Cross in Jerusalem and St Lawrence are included among the seven churches. Pope John Paul II included the Sanctuary of Divino Amore on Via Ardeatina, but it is quite far away for the pilgrimage.

Here are the links to the opening hours of the seven churches:

St Peter’s Basilica · St John in the Lateran · St Paul outside the walls · Santa Maria Maggiore · San Sebastiano · Divino Amore · Holy Cross in Jerusalem · Saint Lawrence the Verano

Hours of other basilicas and churches

As a small help, I have collected here the opening hours of some other important churches in the center. Here are the links:

Basilica dei Santi Quattro · The Basilica of SS.  Giovanni e Paolo · Campo Santo Teutonico · Chiesa del Gesù · Holy Stairs · Catacombs of San Sebastiano · San Anselmo · San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane · San Clemente · San Pietro in Vincoli · Santa Croce in Gerusalemme · Santa Maria dei Miracoli · Santa Maria del Popolo · Santa Maria dell’Anima · Santa Maria in Ara Coeli · Santa Maria in Cosmedin · Santa Maria in Monte Santo · Santa Maria in Trastevere · Santa Prassede · Santa Sabina · Sant’Alessio · Sant’Andrea al Quirinale · Sant’Agnese in Agone · Santi Silvestro e Martino ai Monti · Sant’Ignazio · Santo Stefano Rotondo · SS. Vincenzo e Anastasio at the Trevi Fountain · Scala Santa · Trinità dei Monti